Deep Blue Eyes

copyright 2010

 

You look at me with your deep blue eyes,

So determined, so sure that you know

Exactly what my heart is telling me,

And what my mind is saying

Though I don’t want to tell you

And I want to believe myself

That I am fine and there is nothing wrong,

Or that I am all worn out and

Everything is the matter

And whatever you do or say or think

Will do nothing to change how awful I feel,

How much I want to please you, to love you,

To do for you exactly what you need – what I need,

And to give you what you need first,

But I know that I am not and that I am confused,

I am confused and do not know where to turn,

And when I do turn, I don’t see what I want to see,

I hear things, I know things, I learn things

That only make me feel worse,

Knowing that I am so terrible a person,

And you only seem to look at me,

You don’t offer anything but your deep blue eyes.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment